Braised red cabbage with apples – Pimp your roast!

So last Sunday I decided to cook a roast for my housemates, girlfriends and the hungover people who had been camping out on the sofas. I did not want to do just an ordinary Sunday roast, I wanted to accessorize it. I wanted it to provide a suitable end to what had been a perfectly lazy Sunday. 

The consensus was that chicken be the meat of choice and Linda McCartney Sausages for the vegetarians. The rest was left up to me. I decided on the usual roast potatoes, honey roast parsnips, carrots, paxo stuffing and homemade gravy. But, something was missing, something I have never done before, a little something to help improve my street cred, something like a nord wave synthesizer or set of mixing decks in the boot of  my 1988 Nissan Pulsar (chrome green with spinning hubcaps). I needed to be the Xzibit of Roasts! 

It was wandering through Sainsbury’s did I think of red cabbage, of which I knew little about but wanted to learn more. A quick trip to Delia online on the Blackberry and I knew what to get. Call me sad…very sad, but I was excited…very excited. Excitement contained, I returned home to a salivating horde. This side helped contribute to a lovely roast with an even more lovely bunch of friends, of which I considered the ultimate Sunday roast bling. Word. 

Braised red cabbage with apples 

Part of a Sunday roast for six 

You will need: 

1 large red cabbage, quartered, cored and sliced (approx 900g)

2 red onions (finely sliced)

2 apples (peeled, cored and finely grated)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

25g demerara sugar

3 tbsp red wine vinegar

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Salt and pepper

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 Degrees Celsius/Gas Mark 3
  2. Mix all the ingredients and place in an ovenproof dish and season to taste
  3. Cover with foil
  4. Bake in the oven for 60-90 minutes until the cabbage is tender, make sure to stir at least two to three times, say every 25 mins
  5. Cover and put to one side and serve with your Sunday roast and try not to think about having to go to work on Monday.

This can also keep in the fridge for a few days once cooled.

2 Comments

Filed under food, Food Blog, london, london food blog, recipes

2 responses to “Braised red cabbage with apples – Pimp your roast!

  1. Great post, I favorited your site so I can visit again in the near future, All the Best, Yolande Borja

Leave a Reply

