Spicy Roast Parsnip Soup

Spicy Roast Parsnip Soup 

It is my belief that as much effort as possible should be made to produce a homemade supper most nights. Not necessarily a three course banquet but anything to make you feel full and a little proud that you made the effort. Please do not get me wrong, there should always be room for a takeaway in your mealtime repertoire, but, in my opinion, if you have the ingredients and it is not too close to bedtime you should always put in the graft and go for the healthier choice and most definitely cheaper option. 

It was this very debate I was having with myself on Tuesday. I had come home from work fairly late and particularly tired. My forage through the kitchen found some parsnips, some tomatoes, some onions and a well stocked spice cupboard. Next to the pretty much empty fridge lay the takeaway menus, the temptation was clear. On one shoulder I had an angel in chef whites telling me to man up, on the other I had a second clad in delivery boy overalls and a moped helmet whispering the promise of double decadence pizzas, curries and special fried rice.

Once again my saviour was the BBC Good Food website. A quick ingredient search led me to this fantastic recipe for a parsnip soup with a spicy twist. I am so chuffed that I made this. It certainly was a healthier option and saved me from what probably would have been an MSG cheese lined calorie fest. It was so simple to make, packed full of flavour and has definitely added to my arsenal for future dinner parties. I hope anyone who reproduces this liked it as much as I did. 

Spicy Roast Parsnip Soup 

Serves 4 

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp coriander seeds

1 tsp cumin seeds ½ tsp ground turmeric

½ tsp mustard seeds

1 large onion , cut into 8 chunks

2 garlic cloves

700g parsnips (peeled and diced)

2 plum tomatoes  (quartered)

1.2 litres vegetable stock

1 tbsp lemon juice

Salt and pepper 

You will need: 

  1. Heat oven to 220 degrees celsius
  2. In a bowl, mix together the oil and spices
  3. In a roasting tin, cover parsnips with oil then roast for 30 mins
  4. Once roasted and tender, spoon into a blenders with half the stock and process until smooth.
  5. Pour mix into a pan with the remaining stock, season, bring to a gentle simmer, remove from the heat, stir in the lemon juice and arnish with a small pinch of cumin seeds. Serve with pleanty of toast.
Leave a comment

Filed under food, Food Blog, london, london food blog, recipes

Leave a Reply

